10 Year Jubilee Celebration

Antwerp, Thursday 28 September


The 28th of September 2023, CIFAL Flanders celebrated its 10 year anniversary  in the City Hall of Antwerp, where the UN flag was already waving outside the building. Our guests could enjoy a guided tour in the beautiful building, after which the Jubilee Ceremony commenced. We welcomed multiple (in-person and online) speakers, who are all a part of CIFAL Flanders’ journey.


Guided tour City Hall Antwerp

Word of welcome by Tom Meeuws, Vice Mayor of Antwerp

Welcome words by Peter Wollaert, Managing Director CIFAL Flanders and UNITAR Fellow

Video message by Ari Epstein, Chair CIFAL Flanders and CEO Antwerp World Diamond Centre (AWDC)

Speech by Ludo Van Campenhout, Co-founding Father CIFAL Flanders and Honorary Vice Mayor Antwerp

Live online speech by Alex Mejia, Head CIFAL Global Network

Speech by Jan BeyneFirst intern and first employee CIFAL Flanders, Co-founder Route 2030 and Assistant Professor Sustainability Antwerp Management School (AMS)

Live online speech by Edna Co , Executive Director CIFAL the Philippines

Live online speech by Christine Nkulikiyinka , Head CIFAL Kigali and CEO Rwanda Cooperation

Speech by Marian Blondeel , Head Benelux & EU Desk United Nations Regional Information Centre (UNRIC)

UNITAR Certificate ceremony former Trainees by Astrid Van Parys , Head Sustainability Colruyt Group

Flowers for Peter Wollaert, 10 years the Managing Director CIFAL Flanders

Speech by Rob de With , Co-founder Global Goals Community

Signing of the collaboration agreement between CIFAL Flanders and Global Goals Community

Cutting of the CIFAL Flanders SDG Anniversary Cake

CIFAL Flanders team

Thanks to the more than 50 participants!


Our past trainees received a UNITAR Certificate of Completion, awarded by board member Astrid Van Parys.

Certificate of Jan Beyne, first trainee and first employee CIFAL Flanders

Jan Beyne

Anna Paeshuyse

Eline Hochepied

Elisabeth Goes d’Huart

Fekadu Habte Gebru

Ilke Geleyn

Leen de Ruck

Levi Halewyck

Louise Vandekerckhove

Marijke Janssens

Mathilde Van Caeckenbergh

Maya De Deyn

Nirina Rafidison

Noah Feron

Sam Van Hoof

Silke De Pauw

Sofie Dejans

Sofie Dumortier

Stefanie Van Breedam

Vincent De Keer